Reviews

ARC MINI REVIEWS — Nancy Drew, Oh No, Safely Endangered, Servant & Lord

February 9, 2019

This week’s mini review round-up includes 1 graphic novel, 2 comic strip collections, and a manga!


moonsdivider
Nancy Drew by Kelly Thompson

TITLE: Nancy Drew: The Palace of Wisdom
AUTHOR: Kelly Thompson
RELEASES: April 2nd, 2019; Dynamite Entertainment
GENRE: Mystery
AGE RANGE: YA

Nancy Drew is seventeen and good at everything… ESPECIALLY solving crimes. But her totally-in-control-and-obviously-running-perfectly-smooth-(but-not-really) life hits a snag when a mysterious message drags her back to the hometown she left behind.

goodreadsbutton

I’ve never been the biggest Nancy Drew fan, but I remembered the characters well enough that my favorite thing about this graphic novel was seeing them re-imagined as modern, fun teens. (HIGH key loving the fact that my fave from my childhood, George, grew up to be a queer punk girl?!) The plot was okay—a little underwhelming, maybe, and certainly predictable—but the characters were fun and the art was lovely, so I feel pretty comfortable giving this 4 stars. I assume this creator is going to make more in this ‘series’, and if that’s the case, I think I’ll check them out, too.

Thank you so much to the publisher for providing me with this ARC in exchange for an honest review!
4stars

moonsdivider
oh no by Alex  Norris

TITLE: oh no
AUTHOR: Alex Norris
RELEASES: April 2nd, 2019; Andrews McMeel Publishing
GENRE: Humor
AGE RANGE: Adult

Alex Norris’ viral webcomic Webcomic Name, has captured the internet’s heart. The disappointed blob and its resigned “oh no” has become a recognizable slogan, tapping into the current internet zeitgeist of self-conscious pessimism to hilarious and heartbreaking effect.

goodreadsbutton

oh no, indeed.

I wasn’t familiar with this webcomic aside from seeing one or two bits here and there, but I had liked the ones I’d seen, so I thought this would be cute. It turns out, in fact, that the sense of humor the creator utilizes gets old for me… very fast. 🙁

Thank you so much to the publisher for providing me with this ARC in exchange for an honest review!
2stars

moonsdivider
Safely Endangered by Chris McCoy

TITLE: Safely Endangered
AUTHOR: Chris McCoy
RELEASES: April 9th, 2019; Andrews McMeel Publishing
GENRE: Humor
AGE RANGE: Adult

A collection of gloriously random and unexpected cartoons from the hugely popular webcomic Safely Endangered.

goodreadsbutton

I already liked Chris McCoy’s webcomics, so I was excited to read this collection, and it didn’t disappoint! The sense of humor is just hilarious and so spot-on for my tastes, and I really love the simple, cute art style. There’s a lot of sarcasm and cynicism, and while it does occasionally manifest in a joke that’s a bit insensitive, I don’t think the average reader will be offended unless you just really hate morbid humor.Otherwise, give this one a go and I genuinely believe it’ll brighten your day a bit.

Thank you so much to the publisher for providing me with this ARC in exchange for an honest review!
4stars

moonsdivider
Servant & Lord by Lorinell Yu

TITLE: Servant & Lord
AUTHOR: Lorinell Yu
RELEASES: March 19th, 2019; TokyoPop
GENRE: Romance
AGE RANGE: NA/Adult

Christian has always admired handsome, talented composer Daniel. Their shared appreciation for music marked the beginning of a friendship between a willful boy and a sophisticated young man… But when tragedy strikes and circumstances twist around to put Daniel in the service of Christian’s wealthy family, their bond is tried in unexpected ways.

goodreadsbutton

I was pretty excited for this one based on the artwork—which is absolutely gorgeous from start to finish, no doubt—but sadly, the art is kind of where my love for this manga ended. The plot is just okay, the panels are a bit hard to follow at times as things jump around and characters’ motives are hard to understand at times (mainly Dan’s—he frustrated me to no end), and the relationship definitely has some toxicity issues (Christian’s threats of stalking, Dan’s “prank” at the end, etc.). The biggest thing that annoyed me is that Christian keeps “waking up” from events, so it was hard for me to know what all actually happened and what didn’t.

Bottom line is: the art is gorgeous and the author has definite potential, but this story needed cleaning up. I’d definitely give this author another try in the future, though!

Thank you so much to the publisher for providing me with this ARC in exchange for an honest review!

3stars

moonsdivider

twitter | bookstagram | facebook | goodreads

You Might Also Like

No Comments

  • Reply Priyasha February 9, 2019 at 11:44 am

    Great review 🖒😍

  • Reply Paper Crow Blog February 9, 2019 at 11:48 am

    Your site is gorgeous! Love the colors and design.
    I used to love Nancy Drew, but it sounds like the updated version is even better!

  • Reply Sarah February 11, 2019 at 7:53 am

    My friend loves to send me the “oh no” comics and I think they’re very funny, but they also definitely seem like they’d be best in small doses. Reading one after the other seems like it would definitely make the punchline get old fast. Sorry you didn’t end up liking the book!

  • Reply Laura Beth February 11, 2019 at 11:12 am

    I definitely want to check out the Nancy Drew graphic novel! Awesome review!!

  • Reply Meeghan reads February 12, 2019 at 4:42 am

    Nancy Drew is coming back as graphic novel? I think you just made my life. x

    • Reply Destiny @ Howling Libraries February 18, 2019 at 7:50 pm

      Haha yaaaay! It was so fun and I honestly just really loved how diverse they made the cast. <3

  • Reply Kaleena @ Reader Voracious February 13, 2019 at 10:32 pm

    HOW DID I NOT KNOW THERE WAS A NANCY DREW GRAPHIC NOVEL!? I need this in my life, I loved Nancy Drew as a kid so much!

    • Reply Destiny @ Howling Libraries February 18, 2019 at 8:02 pm

      Ooooh, would love to hear your thoughts!! I got it from Netgalley and I honestly want to say it MIGHT have been a Read Now title…? Maybe? Either way, I hope it’s still on there so you can get it!!

  • Reply February Wrap: The month of sickness and slumping! – howling libraries March 4, 2019 at 9:01 am

    […] 🦄🌻🌈🍰 Nancy Drew: The Palace of Wisdom — Kelly Thompson […]

  • Say hello! ♥

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    %d bloggers like this: